1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Impacted crop from long grass? I'm a worried 'hen mother''...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Des R, Jun 15, 2016.

1. Des R

Des R Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2016
    Maryland / Delaware
    I'm new to keeping chickens and the girls are 5 weeks old. I take them out to the yard almost daily (weather permitting) in a fenced area and let them forage. Days it's not nice enough to take them out, I've been shoveling up a clump of dirt and grass and putting in the brooder because they seem to love it. I also give them a bowl of chick grit. Today I noticed a chick had a hard lump on her chest so I googled it and realized it's only a full crop. Then I realized about half of the chicks have the same lump. But as I was reading, I learned I shouldn't allow them to have long grass? Uh oh, they love the long grass and they've been gobbling a lot of it. Do you have to keep the grass mowed for chickens, this seems strange when people allow them to free range... have I messed up big time and what can I do about it?

Thanks in advance for you advice!

Des

2. chickcrack

chickcrack Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2016
    Ontario, Canada
    Long grass can knot up and block their crop. I've dealt with it in a hen. don't panic yet. Check their crops first thing in the morning to make sure they emptied. If your chicks are still under a heat lamp that won't work tho as they will be eating all night long. Watch for crops that feel hard or extremely squishy like a water balloon. If you think a crop is blocked you need to withhold food and massage the crop to get it moving through. Never withhold water. Hopefully they were just full when you checked today!

3. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer