Impacted crop gone now, but still not right hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Ciqala, Nov 14, 2013.

1. Ciqala

Ciqala Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2013
    New Hampshire
    My hen, Shirley, who's been in the house the last few days due to an impacted crop finally woke up this morning with it empty. She made some poops yesterday that were quite firm, I'm assuming she was passing the fibrous things that impacted her. Yesterday she was drinking on her own finally and acting more normal {not so lethargic}.

Today she does not seem interested in drinking, or eating, is pooping more normal looking poops but is stretching her neck and squiggling it a bit every now and then. Does this mean she's developing sour crop now as a result of all this? Should I start her on antibiotics or something to nip this in the bud?

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    I'm not experienced with crop issues except for reading about them, but I know there can be problems further down the line with gizzard impaction, and yes, with sour crop developing after impaction. Many sites recommend Nystatin to be give, but it requires a prescription. However, Mediastatin is the same drug available online. A fellow BYCer has also treated with Fluconazole, a drug used for yeast infections. The equivalent is also available in Canada without a prescription as Canesoral, also online.

Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  3. Ciqala

Apr 14, 2013
    New Hampshire