In at the deep end

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by eggonomist, Oct 27, 2007.

1. eggonomist

eggonomist Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2007
    Singhampton, Ont, Canada
    Hi all.
    I'm very new to the chicken game and I'm about to start on the building of the coop. I have built many things but never a chicken coop. I am shamelessly ripping off nugget's beautiful design but with some dimension changes (If I can repay with some Buff orpington eggs come hatching time let me know). The lucky tennents are going to be 10 Buff Orpingtons and 10 Silver Laced Wyandotte's (5 cornish X hens will make up the order and keep us fed) then when we decide what we are keeping (probably the orpingtons) we will keep a rooster and the hens and maybe some of the others for some mutant cross's. I'm starting with a 8 x 10 base and the idea of mirroring the building at the other end of the run if my population grows. The run will be 20 x 10 and fully enclosed. At present I'm still in the gathering materials stage but hope to start work on the base before the white stuff falls.
    Adie

2. allen wranch

allen wranch Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    San Marcos, TX
    Sounds like a good plan but you might make your base larger if you are going to start with 25 birds. Each bird needs about 4 square feet.

I got my first Orpingtons this year and love their personalities.

Be sure to post progress pictures.

3. eggonomist

eggonomist Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2007
    Singhampton, Ont, Canada