In the final stretch and have majorly messed up. Please Help.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Pasha1, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Pasha1

Pasha1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2011
    South Geaorgia
    So I am a total newbie to everything chicken. Well new enough. Bought 10 Buff Orpington day old chicks online. Since I bought 10 they threw in an easter egger/amerucana and a buff warmer chick for free. All 12 survived. We built a coop and they thrived for a whole year. The eggs were great and we ate some roosters. Even did the slaughter ourselves. (Really amazing as I am as city as it gets. These are the first chickens I had ever seen.) To date we have 5 buff hens, 1 buff rooster and the amerucana rooster.

I decided that it's spring and I needed to continue my chicken project. Went online, bought a little giant incubator kit... fan, digital thermometer, egg turner... and started setting eggs. Totally didn't think this through. I didn't gather and save eggs. That's right I set them everyday from 2/27 to 3/5. Then I actually started to understand the collection bit and set a batch I collected on 3/9. The eggs from 2/27-3/5 are all developing. (Falcor our little luck dragon amerucana is 18 for 18) Everything was going great until I figured out that come day 18... which will reset daily for a week... I needed a new place to put my hatching eggs. I used the dry incubation method and am too worried to go willy nilly with drastic changes.