Incredibly simple 4x4 copp

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by gator75, Apr 2, 2016.

1. gator75

gator75 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2012
    Limited on time. I have an area about 4x4 walled on 2 sides. I want the absolutely most simple coop design I can find to accommodate 2 hens.

Anyone have any pics or ideas.

2. gator75

Aug 25, 2012
    Well, almost done. I didn't go simple and I didn't go quick, but it will be heaven for a few lucky hens. Ended up with a 7.5 x 4.5
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  3. ChicKat

ChicKat Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Good for YOU! you really did a lot in a short time.....

When I was managing projects we used to have a saying 'you can have it fast, you can have it good, you can have it cheap -- pick any two" Just made me think of it -- because you did it FAST and GOOD!

Hope your chickens will be very happy in it...

4. gator75

Aug 25, 2012
    Thanks, since I'm a general contractor, I even did it almost cheap as I had a fair amount of the materials left over from job sites!

5. ChicKat

There you go!! it all adds up - When are your chickens moving in?

ETA - just had a major building project here -- and my GC was great -- I always snagged good materials -- and there were plenty. I need to put a time limit on how long they sit around though -- time goes so fast. What a good set of skills to have in the world of chickening! being able to contstruct stuff (and it comes out good)
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  6. gator75

Aug 25, 2012
    This afternoon I'm picking up my pullets. Not even sure what breed, but I think one buff, one Americana, and one barred rock maybe. Being given to me. They are 2 months. I just hope they all turn out to be hens.

I think I have about 175.00 into the coop.

7. ChicKat

Pretty amazing....