Incubating African/Toulouse Cross eggs in a Farm Innovators 4200

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mswendeu, Mar 18, 2015.

1. mswendeu

mswendeu Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2012
    East Tennessee
    I have a few questions:
    First of all I am new to incubating brand new. So this will be my first attempt at hatching. I ordered 6 african/toulouse cross goose eggs and 6 lavender orphington eggs.

I bought myself a little giant 4200 circulated air incubator with the automatic turner. My question on this is I read on another post yesterday that you can remove a turning rail. Is this true? If so can someone instruct me on how to do this? I don't want to break it as it is new. Also in regards to the incubator how is water added during incubating process?

Question number two is can I incubate both the chick eggs and the goose eggs together? If I can't that's fine I will just go buy the still air incubator and a couple thermometer/hygrometer's as back up and maybe order a few more chick and possibly duck eggs (if those can be incubated together).

I am extremely excited about the possibilities. And I am extremely excited about how this process will work. Any and all help is greatly appreciated. And I am excited to read others posts as well.

In brooders I already have 2 pekin ducklings "Daphne" "Velma", 2 Khaki Campbells "Scooby" and "Shaggy" and 6 black sex-links (one is named "Trouble" because it was the first to learn how to escape the chick brooder to visit the pekin ducklings in the next bin). LOL
    And 3 Golden laced Wyandottes chicks, 1 Amerucana chick, 4 silver laced wyandotte chicks I bought from TSC.
    I am looking forward to growing my farm and adding to them.... :)

Thanks in advance,
    Wende

Last edited: Mar 18, 2015
  2. Silkie-Feet

Silkie-Feet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2010
    Ky, Kentucky