Incubating Golden and Silver Sebrights

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cabumblebee, Jun 23, 2016.

1. cabumblebee

cabumblebee New Egg

Jun 23, 2016
    Central Ca
    Why is it so dang hard to keep Golden and Silver Sebrights alive to hatch??? I have been breeding now for two years and I have never had a good hatch! It is very frustrating... Any help or tips?? I have heard that it is a hard breed to deal with!!

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    I just had a 100% hatch of some Golden's, but I had a broody sit on them until day 20. What has been going wrong?

3. cabumblebee

cabumblebee New Egg

Jun 23, 2016
    Central Ca
    Im not really sure. The last incubation had around 15 live chicks at day 18 and by day 21 only 1 had made it. I get this over and over. I may try using broody hens to do the job maybe I will get a better outcome. This was started with 40 eggs!!! The previous started with 40 eggs and ended with 6 live hatch.
    The temp is good and so is the humidity so I really don't know why it happens. I had the same results last year.
    Kinda frustrating!!

4. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    [​IMG] What are you using for humidity during incubation? Do you check the air cells at all?

5. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    Have you been opening them up to try to figure out what went wrong?

6. cabumblebee

cabumblebee New Egg

Jun 23, 2016
    Central Ca
    It just takes water in the bottom of the incubator.

7. cabumblebee

cabumblebee New Egg

Jun 23, 2016
    Central Ca
    No I haven't opened any of them. Im not sure that I would know anything by opening them. What would I look for?

8. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY