1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Incubating Khaki Campbell eggs!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ChickenRiverCottage, Sep 11, 2010.

1. ChickenRiverCottage

ChickenRiverCottage Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2009
    I bought 12 Khaki Campbell hatching eggs. They have been in the incubator (R-COM 50) for a couple of days. As I looked at the eggs today I saw one of them looks like it is blue inside, is that normal? This is my first time incubating duck eggs so I am absolutely clueless and hope someone can help me. [​IMG]

2. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens

Blue is usually not good. It indicates a dead egg and they can explode. How long have they been incubating? You may get a blue look when they are close to hatching, but not in the incubation cycle. Have you been candling weekly?

Here is a nice duck egg candling chart:
    http://www.metzerfarms.com/Candling.cfm

Last edited: Sep 11, 2010
  3. ChickenRiverCottage

Apr 30, 2009
    I started the eggs in the incubator on Sept. 7th, so they are not even in for a week yet. I haven't candle them yet, I just thought it was weird that the inside of the eggs had a blue shine through the white shell. I will candle it later today.

4. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens

That egg is not good, especially that early in the game. It may have had a hairline crack and bacteria got into it. That happens. At this point you should see something looking like a red spider in it. Its the heart and blood vessels forming. In general I expect half of the eggs to hatch, if they have been shipped through the mail. The eggs have been of poor quality if less then 30% hatch. Ideally would be 70%. I candle weekly to follow the process. Candling more often is not necessary.

5. nivtup

nivtup Chillin' With My Peeps