Incubating question on shipped eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by shangri-lafarms, Aug 22, 2008.

1. shangri-lafarms

shangri-lafarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2008
    NY-Upstate Adirondacks
    hello all,
    could you tell me this I am new to incubating and I have two batches 5 days apart.....first hatch came from 12 eggs, i have four babies that are 12 days old and moving , alot of fertile eggs 7 had blood rings and got tossed, 1 infertile....second batch origionally 10 eggs 2 infertile, lucky I got them out they were stinking only after a few days.....the rest on day 7 I have 3 definite 5 maybees ...I just can't tell yet so I'm keeping them.....Just wondering if these numbers are normal for most people that got shipped eggs from other friends member etc....or is this just because it's my first time??? Just wondering what everyone thinks...thanks

2. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008
    It is normal... unfortunately. BUT... unless you're really good at looking at candled eggs, I wouldn't throw away the bloodrings until day 14 or 18... I had 3 eggs this last hatch that I had put a "?" on because I thought they were bad, and all 3 hatched. But yes, the PO does a number on them. My last hatch was my best - 10 out of 17, and it came from the person closest to me (in WA). Time in transit was the same, but it was cooler and the actual distance traveled was shorter, so I'm thinking that's why I had such a good hatch. Otherwise, I was getting 0, 1, maybe 2 chicks, if I was lucky, every other hatch. :|

3. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

Why does a blood ring form?

4. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008