Incubating shipped eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by williamsl77, Dec 11, 2011.

1. williamsl77

williamsl77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2011
    Northeast
    Hi all,

I am incubating several batches of shipped eggs. This is my first attempt at incubating eggs. I did not candle them prior to putting them in the incubator (didn't know I was supposed to, now I know). I did let them sit for 24 hours prior to putting them in the incubator Thursday night. I candled some of them this am (Day #3). I know I'm not supposed to see much at this point, but I was looking for air cells (now that I know what to look for). There is one batch that have great looking air cells, intact and don't move at all (Little Araucana Mom's eggs). I have a bunch from my pet chicken that look like they might not have air cells in them any more or that have air cells that still move all over the place. I think this is pretty bad for outcome, right? My question is... do the air cells ever seal back up if they've broken off of the egg? And when should that occur? Will any of these stand a chance at hatching? I know I should have a better idea by Wednesday (Day #6). Can't wait to candle then. And next time, I will candle prior to putting them in. I also found the air cell sticky on Incubating and Hatching thread. Next time I will let them sit longer and put them in without putting the automatic turner on for 3-4 days. So I learned all that retrospectively. But you know the newbies... so excited to get my eggs in, I jumped first, then read the directions.

Anyway... experienced hatchers of shipped eggs... what do you think?

2. Griffin Nest

Griffin Nest Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2010
    California