incubator not heating up

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Roxannemc, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Roxannemc

Roxannemc Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2012
    SE Missouri
    Worrying about my bator.heating Hovabator 1602N
    i have 2 but some eggs are going to lockdown today.Day `18 or should
    i have been trying to get the temp up to 99 in the lockdown bator since last night in incruments and so far its only gone to 94.5. Wonder if the heater is going outl Havent had this happen before with it.Usuall yit comes on close to 98 -101 on start up.
    l. It is warming as i turn higher just slightly at a time. I just turned it 2 big turns see what happens
    What can i do to get enough heat in there until i can figure something out if it wont go up enough? . Havent moved the eggs into it yet. They are in my genesis still with the others.
    Ideas anyone?.
    Im no electrician so no wiring stuff please.Thanks ahead

EDIT......After 24 hours ....Its up from 90 to 98.3 now so guess it will be ok...i hope..

Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  2. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
    oh crux Rox!!! what do you think it was? I hope the wire isnt loose.

3. LukensFarms

LukensFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2013
    Fort Collins, CO
    Put insulation like towels or blankets around it. Don't plug the air holes.

4. Roxannemc

Mar 30, 2012
    SE Missouri
    Heatng but so so slowly It got to 93.1 and then i just left it alone there and now no reason nothing changed its down to 97. something .Just turned it up more..and its 98.1...brother i am afraid its conking out ..I had cleaned it right before lock but never had a problem after cleaning befrore stayed the same like 98-100 ?Think iwore it out ruingit almost steady 24/7 since June? HAHA
    SO glad my other Bator is a 1588!
    None of this stress Wish i had a second