Incubator running a little high?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by wacacta, Feb 19, 2015.

1. wacacta

wacacta Out Of The Brooder

Feb 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Hi, i was wondering whether my eggs will be ok being incubated at 37.7°c? I have only ever hatched at 37.5°c. I currently have 14 chicken eggs in there set wednesday. Im a little hesitant to mess with the temp as its my first time using my Brinsea eco 20 with auto turn! :/ do you think i should attempt to lower it .2°c or will they be fine at the current temperature!

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    .2 is nothing to worry about. [​IMG]

3. wacacta

Feb 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Thank you :) that's put my mind at ease now!

4. DanEP

DanEP Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2010
    Cadiz Ky
    I have the eco 20 too and it has always ran a little high like yours. I don't hatch that often but I have never had a problem with the temp being a little high. I bet you would have trouble finding a broody hen that is 99.5 degree's all of the time so a little temp swing is ok. The only thing I have noticed is that the eggs usually start pipping on the night of day 20.
    I have learned a few things that have helped with my hatch rate tho. I add water every 3 days and don't check in between if the humidity drops a little on the third day that's ok. When I go into lock down I fill the second reservoir with water and that will bring the humidity up just fine. I also only candle on day 10 and 18 other than that I leave them alone. I may be wrong but I believe the more you mess with the eggs the lower the hatch rate,at least that is how it's worked for me in the past.The eco is a good incubator and should do a fine job for you as long as you have good eggs to put in it.

1 person likes this.
  5. wacacta

Feb 19, 2015
    United Kingdom