incubator temp. & humidity help!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rebel yell, Aug 22, 2010.

1. rebel yell

rebel yell Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama
    got my homemade incubator running & temp, is between 98- 101 humidity 50-55 is the temp. going to be ok here? this is the best i can get out of it. what do i need to do?

Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  2. rebel yell

Jun 27, 2010
    Alabama
    will someone out there please give me a sugestion, dont know if my temp. is going to cut it please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3. The Lisser

The Lisser Chillin' With My Peeps

I am new to incubators too so I don't know if I'll be able to help. Do you have a thermostat in your incubator? If so, is it a hot water heater thermostat? I have read on here that they have a pretty wide range (5 to 7 degrees - that's what my hubby says he's an engineer).

Here's a link to a page on BYC about modifying a thermostat - haven't tried it myself:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=26580-thermostat-modification

Hubby says that Lowes' carries a heater thermostat, and it would probably be around $20 - it has a much smaller range (he says about 4 degrees), and would keep the temps more steady. He says it has to be one made to switch a load - made to control something big.

Good luck!

Melissa

4. BigDaddy'sGurl

BigDaddy'sGurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2010
    Wilkesboro NC