Indian Runners & their daily water needs...... in winter

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by blenderbender, Nov 18, 2014.

1. blenderbender

blenderbender Out Of The Brooder

Jul 9, 2014
    Western Pennsylvania
    Hi... I'm relatively new with ducks and have a pair of runners who I thought I had all fixed up for winter here in western Pennsylvania. They have a wonderfully insulated doghouse which I don't think I've ever seen them in, they seem to prefer just huddling up in the cold. They get shut in a predator proof wire enclosure for the night and have quite a large fenced garden to peruse all day. I went to a fair amount of work and expense when I purchased a set of solar panels, batteries, charge controller, etc. and built what I thought was a bullet proof solar heated water container for the winter. It's a 4 gallon container with plenty of depth for them to fully immerse their heads should they want to. The solar heater functioned well through the first freezing night. But then something happened to it, which I haven't been able to troubleshoot yet, and I've been hauling out water morning and night for them. We got a relatively hard cold snap the last couple nights and the container is freezing up pretty quickly. I know when it's mild outside they are into the water pretty regularly so my question is..... how much, or how often, do they require open water? Is it imperative that they have ice free water all day and night? Obviously I'm going to have to figure out something here because running power (110v) is going to be a problem. I do chip away the ice every chance I get but that is going to get very old very quick. Thanks for any input!

Gary

2. cityfarmer12

cityfarmer12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    Missouri
    That stinks that your set up broke :(