Indoor lighting to aid a cessation but outdoors, help!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by purosaviparos, Nov 23, 2011.

1. purosaviparos

purosaviparos Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2011
    Heres the deal, I have about 50 or so hens and normally I collect about 20 or so eggs on a daily average. They never have a shortage of food or water and are in and outdoor area that is fenced in (with an exception of the top) the space size is about 40' long by about 20' wide. Where I live it is normally really hot 90+ and they have shade, good water, the works. THis is my first year and now we are in the winter months. Here however winter temps only get down to about 60 but there definitely is a shortage of daylight. I have recently gone from a 20+ daily harvest to today I only gathered 1!!!!! I read a few different articles on here and have gained some new insight, mostly aimed toward the fact that hens ovaries are stimulated by daylight and they need some 14 hours a day to produce an egg. Well right now we have only about 11 or 12, from what i have read, this seems to be the most probable cause. I have read up on things like salt intake, feed, water, molting, flock conditions and the list goes on, none of this seems to add up, it must be the light. My question is; Can lighting work outdoors the same as it does indoors? I have read that the illuminicty level needs to be somewhere in the ball park of being able to read a newspaper or other comparisons but who has the scoop on this? I have included a picture, and the plan is to string a line of regular bulbs along the fence (of course strategically placing the lights near roosting areas), i will use some regular 100 watters, has anybody done anything like this? I have heard about a lot of testimonies on ones indoor coop practices but it is the outdoor part that has me wondering. Before going to all the effort of what is entailed in this project i figured i'd try to get the scoop beforehand, my egg selling