Infectious bronchitis

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by CT chicken lover, May 11, 2010.

1. CT chicken lover

CT chicken lover New Egg

Mar 1, 2010
    Ok. After reading posts about wrinkled eggs and infectious bronchitis I have concluded that this must be what is causing my wrinkled egg problem. It seems to be only one of the 6 hens (possibly two). So now what do I do. Can I vaccinate them to prevent it from spreading? Will it get better if I vaccinate the affected hen? Can I vaccinate them myself and if so, where can I get the vaccine? Help! I'm new to this backyard chicken thing. We've only had them for about a year.

2. Camelot Farms

Camelot Farms Chickenista

Giving this a bump in hopes that someone more knowledgeable than me comes along with some info.

3. BetterHensandGardens

BetterHensandGardens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    Clinton, OH
    I recently concluded our chickens had IB too, you can read about what I learned here: http://www.betterhensandgardens.com/2010/05/11/painful-chicken-lesson/

In
    our case, egg production has dropped so badly we have to start over [​IMG]

I'm interested in learning about vaccinating too, in our case the Golden Buffs were vaccinated as pullets but still ended up with IB.

4. Siler

Siler Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2010
    Central Indiana
    All mine were vaccinated as well and I'm learning that my girls have this now. One 3 of them have their eggs affected and this has been happening in the past week. I've noticed every symptom. The wrinkled eggs, the sandy eggs, hole in eggs, flat egg, egg without shell, etc. All 3 hens are sexlinks from TSC, but we have 4 sexlinks. One of them is solid white and her eggs are unaffected. I have so many questions as I'm sure others do as well. Has anyone has success in getting past this without culling the flock?

5. CT chicken lover

CT chicken lover New Egg

Mar 1, 2010