Infertile eggs, poopy butts, death in winter etc LONG

snaffle

Songster
12 Years
May 27, 2009
Illinois
I have been battling a problem for about 7 years, maybe longer.

When I first got my trio of buff cochin banties, I sold 60 to 90 chicks that first summer
(from my incubator hatches)
The next summer I only hatched 30 after setting close to 100 eggs.
The next year there were 12 that hatched. The following year about 6.

Last year I was given the name of a super chicken man who sold me piperazine, gallimycin, oxytetracycline, replamin, vtia proB and told me when and how much to give.

At the end of the summer I finally had a dozen fertile eggs with chicks.

This year I am back to nothing. Not one egg hatched.

It is not the rooster, because earlier this spring I had 2 or 3.

The hens are not too old because some are 1 year old.

Every winter I will have a couple of hens start 'barking'
To me it sounds like a small bark, I suppose it is a cough.
when that happens, I start giving different medications and the hen will die anyway, even if it acts like it recovers.

Last winter was the first time I didnt have a hen die.

I have never had a rooster do this and die.

Last fall I brought in an americauna hen. A friend has her 7 'flock mates' and gets lots of eggs from them. Mrs Chick Chick has never laid an egg here. She will stare at the nest and often get in it, sqwuak like she laid and egg, but there is no egg there. This is NOT an old hen.

For the past few weeks she has been acting very slulggish. Wont go out with the other chickens. She is not 'barking' like a cold.

I had told mr super chicken guy that my chickens always have poop on their rear ends and I often take a scissors and cut it off. He didnt feel it was coccidia because of the consistency.

This morning I watched Mrs Chick Chick when she pooped and it was white and watery. Not solid at all.

Any suggestions?