Info on laying please

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Dzzzyd, Oct 24, 2007.

1. Dzzzyd

Dzzzyd Out Of The Brooder

May 9, 2007
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I haven't been here for awhile for medical reasons, but glad to be back. Anyway. I am wondering about my girls as they haven't started laying yet. They were born in May, so I know they are probably just now the age to start laying. Am I just getting antsy? Flo is a Buff Orpington and Ginger is a Rhode Island Red. Unfortunately little Alice was attacked by a dog, rest in peace. Also will this effect the other girls in laying, as they saw her get attacked. It's starting to get cold here and I am wondering if there's anything I should do to encourage laying in cold weather. As you can tell I am not very experienced. Will they lay this winter? They bring such joy to my life. This morning I brought Ginger in the house for the Grandbabies to pet. She is so gentle and calm. Have a good day to you all.
    Diane

2. jenichick

jenichick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2007
    NC
    My buff hasn't started laying just yet and she's 25 weeks old, heavy breeds take longer to lay. My black sex links, rocks and dorking are just now laying. My cochins, langshans, wyandottes, and buffs haven't laid yet. I wouldn't worry and give it more time. Good luck.

3. Dzzzyd

May 9, 2007
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Thank you so much for the answer so quickly. Guess I am just an impatient Mama. Haha! It has been such an amazing journey to watch them grow from little fluff balls to such beautiful hens. Sometimes I take an old metal milking stool inside their little house and sit awhile, and they jump on my lap for a pet. One of my son's just shakes his head. He keeps saying chickens are not pets mom, they are for food. Oh well. Right now they have been a comfort to me when I have needed it.
    Diane

4. gretchen

gretchen Out Of The Brooder

Jul 18, 2007