Injured chick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Taylettice, Oct 23, 2018.

1. Taylettice

Taylettice In the Brooder

Jul 27, 2018
    I have a week old silkie chick. I just went upstairs to check on them to discover the rack I had across the brooder box had fallen inside the box and had pinned down a chick. It's not very heavy and did not fall from very far( it was across the top of the diaper box I used as a brooder) it's been a couple of hours since I found the chick but she has been chirping alot and I even here a constant clicking sound coming from her when I put my ear up to her body. She also will not put any weight on one leg. I cant tell if there is any damage to the leg because I this is my first year with chickens. Is there anything I should be checking for.

Attached Files:

Saaniya likes this.
  2. EIEIO_farm

EIEIO_farm Chirping

Jun 3, 2018
    Is she eating and drinking?
    Baby chicks are constantly hungry so I would be alarmed if she isn’t interested in food or water. But if she’s still eating fine, she’s probably ok!
    You can try to cheer her up with a crumbled hard boiled egg. My chicks go nuts when I spoil them with one! It’s good for them too, just not every day.

Saaniya likes this.
  3. Saaniya

Saaniya Crowing

Aug 31, 2017
    Delhi

Hi ,
    Oh that's not good
    Chicks sometimes play fun with each other jump.and fall and get injured

Gently feel if she broke her leg
    @staceyj will def help u knowing

I will separate her and give her calm warm place where she can sit

A broken leg may look crooked and swollen, and the bird won't walk on it. Broken legs can be splinted, but it's best to let a vet or someone experienced in bird rehabilitation do this. In a young bird, the bones heal quickly. Once again, you should separate the bird from your flock until it has healed..