injured hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by appysky1, Nov 10, 2013.

1. appysky1

appysky1 New Egg

Sep 11, 2013
    This is my first year having chickens. One of my hens (she is 9 months old) went missing last night. I searched and searched but couldn't find her. This morning she was sitting by my sliding glass door! She is very lame in the left leg; will barely put any weight on it. She also has a superficial skin injury on her back. The injury on her back is completely covered by feathers, I only noticed it because her feathers were out of place in that area (ie, I don't think the skin issue will be a pecking issue). I was not able to feel a fracture or any other issue. I am a veterinarian but I don't know anything about birds (learning fast, though!) so I took her to my office and gave her some injectable pain medication, cleaned up her skin wound, and X-rayed her. I can't find anything wrong with her leg. I looked up some references so I've got her on oral pain medication. I debated about oral antibiotics for the skin wound, but it's so superficial I just opted for topical Neosporin. I've read that it (the leg) could be a slipped tendon but assuming that this feels the same as it does in a dog or cat, I am unable to feel anything like that. So I'm assuming a it's a muscle injury, but can't rule out a slipped tendon or pinched nerve. She laid an egg this morning shortly after I put her in the coop. She has a good appetite and is drinking water, although barely moving around so I feel like I have to put feed right in front of her and leave her near the drinker. My questions are: