Injured newly hatched Muscovy duckling

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Geranium, May 21, 2019.

1. Geranium

Geranium Songster

Aug 17, 2017
    Southern Arizona
    This is my first time hatching anything. I had a Muscovy duck egg under my broody pullet. She's nearly a year and was very attentive with the eggs, but this is her first hatch. The chick was starting to zip last night when I left for work. This morning I found a cold duckling half under the broody with a cut on her head. I brought her inside and plugged in my brooder plate. I washed her off a bit and have her warning under the plate. She's moving, eyes open, but not peeping, not raising her head. I dipped her beak into Sav-A-Chick electrolyte solution and i'm keeping her under the plate to warm and fluff. I put a little Veterycin on her injury - looks like she's been scalped a little. I'm willing to try hard to save her. Is there anything else I can be doing right now? I am thinking warming and fluffing are the immediate priorities. I don't have a brooder. Just a broody pullet and brooder plate. Thanks in advance. I'll put a picture of her injury in the comments.

Sequel, WVduckchick and casportpony like this.
  2. Geranium

Geranium Songster

Aug 17, 2017
    Southern Arizona
    Duckling

Attached Files:

WVduckchick and casportpony like this.
  3. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Crossing the Road

Jun 23, 2013
    The Big Island/Hawaii
    @Texas Kiki @WVduckchick @casportpony

I'd say you're on the right track, does look like your broody injured the duckling. Keep it warm & maybe some Nutri Drench or as you're doing the Save a Chick.

4. casportpony

casportpony Enlightened

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    If mine i would concentrate on getting it warm, then offer water and food.

5. Geranium

Geranium Songster

Aug 17, 2017
    Southern Arizona