Injured silkie... need some advice PLEASE!!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by leah_c, Jun 27, 2010.

1. leah_c

leah_c Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Something got into the chickens last night and killed one and took off with another (both silkies). The other one, also a silkie is injured on its leg. was out in the run this morning with the rest on the chickens, all about 8-9 weeks old, and now is in the shelter. It did eat from my hand but just wondering if I should be bringing it in with my 3 5 week old frizzles. What can I do about the wound?

2. hd_darcy

hd_darcy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Bump for you! Hopefully you get some answers....and also very sorry to hear [​IMG]

3. LeezyBeezy

LeezyBeezy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2010
    Lancaster PA
    I am new to all of this, but I would say treat the wound as your would your own. Keep it clean, maybe some antibiotic ointment, and a good rest for the gal. Maybe some extra protein if the wound is deep.

4. MuranoFarms

MuranoFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Boyers, Pa
    Clean it and apply antibiotic ointment. Use the kind without pain medication. How deep is it?

5. leah_c

May 13, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Thanks for the advice!! I wondered if I could treat it like I would one on my kids. We lost two more last night. Racking my brain trying to figure out what I can do to save my remaining 6. The wounded Silkie IS eating and drinking. It has been getting some extra treats and plenty of rest. I'll clean out the wound! Thanks again!!

6. MuranoFarms

Nov 14, 2009
    Boyers, Pa
    You might want to get some blue kote. If the wound is red other chicks will pick at it. Blue kote turns it purple and then they won't pick at it. lol Weird but true!

7. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona