Injured Toulese goose and Runner duck with bumblefoot. Need advice please!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by firekraker, Feb 21, 2012.

1. firekraker

firekraker New Egg

Feb 21, 2012
    Good Morning all,

I am a new member here at BYC. My wife and I have are new to poultry and fowl. We have owned a small flock of chickens for 2 years now. Last spring we added some ducks and a goose. One of our runners recently came down with a case of bumblefoot (according to pictures on here). We have moved her into a small pen in the house and are cleaning the wound daily. I went to the local farm supply store and they didn't know what Bumblefoot was and had no advice. I am a trauma nurse who just recently retired from the Navy. While I do have medical experience, I can say tended to an injured goose and infected duck is not as easy as plugging bullet holes in Marines.

I decided to buy some hydrogen peroxide for the ducks foot and I found an item called Vetericyn at the farmers supply. It is a wound and infection Hydrogel that is sprayed onto the site. I bought it because it says it kills E Coli and Staph (MRSA). With my medical knowledge, I assumed that the foot infection was probably one of those two bugs.

My question is should I be treating her with antibiotics internally? If so, what type? And is it oral or injectable. And lastly, where on earth do you inject a duck.