Injuried pekin duck with eye and hip injury.

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Lboom, Sep 27, 2015.

1. Lboom

Lboom New Egg

Aug 30, 2015
    So I took on a Peking duck that is in really bad shape. She is bald from the top of her head down her back. Looks like from a drake getting too aggressive. Plus on top of that had a dislocated hip along with missing top part of her eye lids. She was attacked by a dog. The previous owners couldn't take care of her since they are leaving town. So I decided to take her. I have dealt with leg injuries before, but never dislocated hip. Plus the eye problem. Not sure if antibiotics will help or if I should take her to a vet (if I can find one). Do you wrap a leg/hip that is dislocated? Some of her neck area too is cut bad, so what type of spary or ointment will help. I have been raising ducks for 2 years, but never have experienced an issue like this. Any advice will help.

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Just found this post….

Glad you are trying to help her.

A good duck vet would be best. In the meantime, I would rinse off any wounds with saline solution or Vetericyn spray, and put an antibiotic cream - not greasy ointment, but cream - on the wounds. (No painkiller, as that can be toxic to waterfowl.)

So she was abused by a drake and attacked by a dog? Oh, no.

I think I would give her as much time floating in a lukewarm tub as possible for now, and consider building her a sling to get the weight off her legs.

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    @JadeComputerGal - any thoughts?

4. JadeComputerGal

JadeComputerGal Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2014
    West Chester, PA, USA

My goodness. Not many people would take on a duck like that, so bless you Lboom.