Inside the home or out?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by HELPPLS, Mar 11, 2014.

1. HELPPLS

HELPPLS Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2014
    Is it safe to keep baby chicks inside the house (inside a brooder of course)? I have read that they can carry salmonella and other diseases. Would that fly through the air somehow or make any of us sick? We have a 2 y.o. We don't have anywhere to put them in the house other than the living room or the kitchen. We have a very small home. We can put them out in a shed in a brooder but I would like to be in close contact with them. I want them to get used to us and I wouldn't have as much time to spend with them if they aren't right here. With a kid this young in the house, would it be too noisy for them? Any advice is greatly appreciated. I'm new to this and everyone around here says "they are just birds". They don't put much thought into it and don't care as much as I tend to when it comes to animals.

2. Blooie

Blooie Team Spina Bifida Premium Member

Feb 25, 2014
    Northwestern Wyoming
    My Coop