Integrating... thoughts?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by MsLisaG, Apr 11, 2012.

1. MsLisaG

MsLisaG Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2012
    Northern California
    To give a little background, we have a small flock of 4. One of them started growing a large pink comb and wattles before 4 weeks old, so obviously a cockerel. The breeder agreed to take him back in exchange for a 12 week old pullet. The others are between 4-6 weeks still and not completely feathered yet, so they are still in the brooder. The new one will go straight to the coop. I've never tried to integrate before, so I'm not sure how this will play out.

Since the new one is older, will she likely be the agressor in the situation, or since she is outnumbered will she be the one to worry about? I know to not try to integrate until the chicks are roughly the same size as the new one and to maintain a separate areas for awhile and so forth. Any tips or insight is definitely appreciated!

Lisa

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    How cold is it there in Northern California? At 4-6 weeks I think your birds are feathered enough to go outside. I mean if it is still 35 and lower at nights you could put in a 60 w colored bulb on a clamp (secured) light to turn on those really cold nights. If your not going below 40 F then I'd not even worry about it.

My thought of integrating is your likely to have the best result introducing them all to the coop at the same time regardless of the one being a lot bigger. Unless your prepared to keep the smaller ones separate for a long time until close to size, we're talking another few months, your best chance of bigger one not exerting too much dominance is now. Otherwise it will have the added aggression of territory. "This is my coop, get out!"

Last edited: Apr 11, 2012
  3. Glasshen

Glasshen Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2012
    La Fayette, NY