Internal pip 26 hours ago no external pip & a big OOPS :o(

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Sylvangirl, Apr 19, 2012.

1. Sylvangirl

Sylvangirl New Egg

Jul 21, 2011
    Snowflake, AZ
    Yesterday I noticed 1 egg was internally pipped & tapping like crazy all day. Last night 2 more were internally pipped but no tapping yet. I increased humidity and tried to dial down about a degree and a half but this morning went in and temp was at 106! I dont know why it got hotter, maybe I turned the wrong way. This is so frustrating. Out of the 3 that had started to pip, one has a little movement but the one that was tapping is no longer making noise or moving. I put them back and have the temp stabilized at 101. Could the temp spike harmed them and their progress? This is my first time and really have no idea. These eggs belonged to our goose who was killed by a coyote after she had laid her 13th egg so these are special eggs. Also, how long between internal pipping and when I should see an actual pip? Right now we are at 24-26 hours but just silence now. :eek:(

2. Sylvangirl

Sylvangirl New Egg

Jul 21, 2011
    Snowflake, AZ
    OK update, I have one egg that the baby has started to scratch at the egg. It is also peeping at me. It has been doing this now for 7 hours. When I candled them last night, this one had come into the air cell. I am worried that my poor incubation skills have compromised the babies :eek:( On the first egg that was pipping yesterday and is now silent, I hand drilled a 2mm hole using a sterilized drill after candeling it to find a good spot. I set it back into the incubator. I am so nervous for the one that is peeping- should I give it an air hole too or let it continue doing it's thing? Help please!

3. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast
  4. Sylvangirl

Sylvangirl New Egg

Jul 21, 2011
    Snowflake, AZ