Intro + 2 Male Quail Dilemma

lauramacf

In the Brooder
11 Years
Dec 27, 2008
Webster Groves
Hello! I'm new to the BYC forums, and am posting because I've got a quail dilemma. We adopted 2 coturnix quail the day after Thanksgiving. The quail were incubated in a first grade classroom, and the family that took these 2 home were having problems because their dogs were going insane with the little birds in the house. My kids are allergic to all things furry (but apparently not to feathery things, as far as I can tell) and cannot have pets of the normal variety, so the original idea was we'd put them out in a pen in the Spring. Now, they've been with us for a month and are officially the pets of my 8-year-old daughter, who loves them, of course, and frequently cried before their arrival because of her profound desire for pets in a pet-free house.

Anyhow, long story short: both quail are boys. I bought a multi-purpose cage to keep them inside until the weather got better to make an outside home for them. They did wonderfully for weeks and were delightful creatures that we couldn't get enough of, but then that magical bird-puberty kicked in and one aggressive guy was out to kill the other. We thought at least one of them was a girl, and that maybe this was mating behavior, but now they are both crowing, and seeing the awesome quail info post from monarc23 has convinced me we've just got boys.