1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

introduced new hen and my current hen went nuts! please help

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by sadiepoo, Aug 12, 2014.

1. sadiepoo

sadiepoo Out Of The Brooder

Aug 6, 2014
    hampton georgia
    Good morning. Im new to the chix world so learning as i go. I started out with just 2. and raised them from a week old. they are a RiR and cukoo muran. Well to our demise the RIR was taken last week by a hawk last week. :( So we needed to get her a new companion I was told because chix need companions I thought. Well we purchased a same age Americauna breed (16 weeks) from same breeder. Well Babbs my Cukko same age, went nuts and jumped on her and was highly mad! My husband has since seperated them but i feel terrible because the new chix is in the coop and we have small run ( A frame coop). Babbs is now in a large dog cage right beside her but i know was upset because she wanted back in her coop so bad she paced and paced and i feel so bad! Please help

Last edited: Aug 12, 2014
  2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

Aww! I'm sorry for your loss and now this stressful introducing.

You should keep them separate but able to see each other. Do this for about 2 weeks or more. Then let them mix.

Good luck and welcome!:)

3. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

x2 with Mountain Peeps, just keep them separate for a while and slowly integrate them. It will eventually settle down.

Sorry about your loss, it's never easy.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member