Introducing a new chicken

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Firstimer, Sep 7, 2009.

1. Firstimer

Firstimer Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2009
    Hi! I'm new at chicken keeping, and I need a little advice. I started off with 3 chicks which grew up into 2 hens and 1 rooster. Since I'm in the city and cannot keep a rooster, I went back to the lady from whom I purchased the chicks and she traded me my rooster for a hen of approximately the same age.

This hen however had been picked on by the other ones and therefore has a "bald" patch on her breast and is missing some tail feathers. Anyway I took her home and my 2 other girls just wanted to peck at the bare spot on her breast or her neck (which is odd, I had never seen them peck at each other before)

Anyway, I separated my new girl (placed her into a smaller coop inside the bigger coop so that they would all get to know each other but not be able to peck or anything).

So now what is best? Should I keep her isolated until her fathers are back (and hopefully she gets a little more confidence and pecks back)? Or should I just let them sort it out now? And if I do the latter, will they stop picking at her eventually (hopefully sooner rather than later)?

I just don't want them to get bad habits, my coop is more than big enough for 3 hens to co-exist peacefully...

Thank you!

2. tonibadgerschicks

tonibadgerschicks New Egg

Aug 24, 2009
    Hi

I am very new also but had a similar experience and the breeder told me never to introduce one hen on her own to a new group. Its better if you have 2 new ones.

Can you go back to the breeder and get another of the same age?

It is horrible when they peck at the lowest in the pecking order and I find it quite distressing but at least this way with 2 new ones they can buddy up.

3. Junkmanme

Junkmanme Chillin' With My Peeps

My SOLUTION is this: