Introducing a new hen to the flock - any suggestions?!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Farmgirl Lily, Dec 18, 2012.

1. Farmgirl Lily

Farmgirl Lily Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2012
    I have seven hens and just recently took in another one who needed a home. She was being attacked at her old home, and the people couldn't keep up with looking after her, so I am trying to incorporate her into my flock. However, this is my first time introducing a full-grown hen to the other girls, and I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions or past experience they could share with me. My girls on the top are going after her, and to some extent, I know they have to establish their pecking order, but I don't want them to injure her, so I keep intervening. For now, I can keep her separate, and they see each other through the fence, but that can only be a temporary set up. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

2. maidenwolfx80

maidenwolfx80 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2012
    missouri
    Keep her there were they can see each other thru the fence. Have it this way for 2-3 weeks. They need to get used to each other. Once they get together they will go thru their pecking order thing and you have to let it happen unfortunatley unless they draw blood.

3. When I introduced Selena, I just put her on the roost at dusk. the next morning when the other hens went out to free-range, I locked them out out of the coop (they have food and water outside) and let the new girls explore their new coop. I then let them free-range a bit. I began to let them free-range with the rest more and more, and they got used to each other quickly. Also, has the new hen been quarentined?

4. Farmgirl Lily

May 26, 2012