Introducing a Rooster to the flock??

GwenReaper

Songster
10 Years
Sep 7, 2009
Memphis, TN
I have 5 hens and a duck. I just got a silkie rooster. He is about 5-6 months old. I have not heard a crow from him yet....

As soon as I put him in there my girls started growling and all went after him, before I could grab him all the girls had a beak full of fuzz. So last night I put him in the coop with the girls- in a large dog carrier so maybe they could get used to the sight of him. I let the out this morning... the a couple started ganging up on him again. Am I doing this wrong or are they just jealous of how pretty he is???
big_smile.png

I am about to go to work and I dont want to leave him out and come home to a bald silkie... so I put him back in the kennel in view of the hens.

i am new to this and any help would be appreciated. I dont know if they are doing this because he is a rooster... but I plan on getting a few more hens and I dont want to go through this everytime. I want to be more prepared. THANKS!!!
yippiechickie.gif

It's definitely a good idea to let the ladies get used to the sight and sounds of a new bird before introducing it to the flock. Several days of separation in the coop is a good idea.

One suggestion that people often make for introducing new birds is to put the new bird on the roost in the middle of the night with the others while everyone is in the mood for sleep. Silkies don't roost up high, though (I've heard most prefer to sleep on the floor), so that technique wouldn't work. Another method you could use is to remove the "ringleader" that is leading any attacks against him from the flock. Keep her separate from the rest of them for a week or so and let the pecking order readjust, then introduce her back into the flock so that their focus is on her. Do things to throw the normal order of things off a bit. Move their food, give them a head of cabbage on a string to play with, etc. etc.

What breeds of hens do you have?