Introducing chick to hens...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ch1ckenmama, Apr 20, 2017.

1. ch1ckenmama

ch1ckenmama Out Of The Brooder

Aug 16, 2016
    Hello! My baby chicks have all their feathers now. All are healthy and happy. They have been in their brooder in the coop for about 3 weeks now. So our hens have been around them. Can I introduce them to my hens now and let the roam the run with them?
    This is my first time having to introduce chickens so not sure when the right time is and how to do it.

Thanks!!

2. eggbert420

eggbert420 Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Feb 15, 2017
    Texas
    Sure, just keep a eye on them.

3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Yes, your chicks are ready to begin entry into the flock. But you do need to take precautions.

Chicks need hiding places and get-aways. Something as simple as a tree or shrub branch with leaves still on tossed into the run will serve as a hiding place. A table or chair will serve as a high place to evade the adults. Extra perches in the run are even better.

But the best thing you can do to insure the safety of your chicks is to rig up a panic room. I got the idea ten years ago when I had but two adult hens and three chicks. The hens were scarfing the chicks' food so I made a little enclosure out of chicken wire in one corner of the tiny run. I made the opening just large enough so the chicks could get through but not the big girls.

Since then, I've perfected the panic room by making portals in every partition in my run with one sectioned off space where the chicks can find refuge and relax and eat and drink without any harassment from the adult flock. I even brood in this space now, and my chicks grow up from day one in close proximity to the flock, making integration a breeze.