Introducing new birds to the flock. . .

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by frozenchick, Jun 21, 2008.

1. frozenchick

frozenchick Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2008
    Wisconsin
    Prepare for a stupid question. I have 5 new hens that I want to introduce to my flock, but am not sure how to go about it. This is my first time getting mature hens. I typically get chicks and raise them, but my friend just gave me some of her laying hens. I'm not really sure when or how to introduce them to my current flock. Right now they are quarantined with some food and water, but no access to my other birds. I free range so if I let them into the coop and then outside will they run away?I have a dozen hens, about 25 chicks, and 2 roos. I know this is a fairly stupid question, but again have never gotten full-grown birds before. Any suggestions?

2. panner123

panner123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    Garden Valley, ca
    Put them in the coop at night. Stand back for there will be a pecking order squabble the next day or week. They will get over it.

3. farm_mom

farm_mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2008
    MI