Introducing new chicks to the old ladies

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by chikens&morechikens, Jul 28, 2011.

1. chikens&morechikens

chikens&morechikens New Egg

Jul 28, 2011
    Im relatively new to chickening and need some advice. I have a good size coop and run with 9 two year old laying hens and one BIG but gentlemanly rooster. This spring I bought 10 more laying hens that are currently 9 weeks old. They are all feathered and doing well and have been in the coop, SEPARATED from the big kids, for three weeks. All is well. Ive had a few escapes by the teenagers into the big world, with no ill effects. But Im worried that the older birds might still hurt the new ones. There is a size difference that worries me. And especially "Big Roo's" interest in the new girls! Can I get suggestions on integration ages and procedures? Thanks!

2. christineavatar

christineavatar Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011
    Bolinas, CA
    What I did was put the newbies in a dog crate and put a screen in front of the door that had openings big enough for the small birds to get through but not for the adult hens to get through. Some such variation on that idea should work.

3. Lindz

Lindz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2011
    Eastern Iowa
    Granted I didn't have a roo at the time, but when my babies were 9 weeks I put them out with the old hens. 4 weeks later we got a rooster, I just put him in and everyone got along well. I would watch and see what happens. I did sit out and watch them for oh....30 minutes or so, just to see what they were doing, and if something happend I was right there to stop it.

4. chikens&morechikens

chikens&morechikens New Egg

Jul 28, 2011