Introducing new Hens

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Chicken03, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Chicken03

Chicken03 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2009
    Western Pa
    I am going to get 5 more Golden Comet hens. I already have 9. What do I need to do to introduce them to the flock? Will they get along? Do I need to quarintine them? Thanks for any help.

2. Jennings Gamefowl

Jennings Gamefowl Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2009
    CORDOVA,SOUTH CAROLINA
    how old are they? i mostly just put them in there. YES the other hens will peck at the new ones but its just a pecking order.. the older hens are letting the newer ones know whos boss

3. chickeneer

chickeneer Out Of The Brooder

Oct 22, 2008
    Hello,

I have a similar question. I am a complete novice at raising chickens. I hatched 15 chickens and live in an urban neighborhood. After giving away most of my flock, I have one hen and one rooster. The rooster is going to have to go! He is so noisy, I'm worried about my neighbors complaining. I have two questions: After I give away my rooster, will my one remaining chicken be lonely? If so, can I put an 8 week old hen in with my 6 month old hen? I have a small coop that we built to accomodate no more than 4 chickens. Help? Thanks.

4. Godiva

Godiva Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2007
    Colorado
    You need to be careful introducing new birds to a flock.

(PLEASE be sure to do a quarantine period with the new birds before they are allowed anywhere near the other flock!!!)

Occasionally it will go without any hitches but you really don't want to assume that all will go well!