Introducing new pullet that was raised alone?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by BlazeJester, Nov 4, 2011.

1. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    I found a lady on CraigsList who seems to be breeding her barred rocks. I'm thinking of taking a lone 4-mo pullet off her hands since I've been looking for BRs and the pullet is the same age as my flock.

It sounds like this pullet has been raised alone - the lady said she wasn't sure how it would react to other chickens. I'm not sure why she did this considering that she has a breeding flock and several other batches of chicks, but I'm now trying to decide whether it would be worth it to get this little girl.

Any ideas or experience with nearly-grown birds raised all by themselves?

Thanks!

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    That is strange that she raised her alone, I have no experience with this. I wonder what others might say.

3. foxypoproxy

foxypoproxy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Madison, CT
    scratch'n'peck :

That is strange that she raised her alone, I have no experience with this. I wonder what others might say.

I also find this strange.
    I would be suspicious about it having some kind of medical issue which is why its not with the rest of her flock.​

4. StarLover21

StarLover21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2011
    Maybe she was raised alone because there was no other chickens her age? I had a lone pullet and I introduced her to some freinds and they are best freinds. But her new buddies are younger than her. I say get her...she's probably lonely. Maybe check with the seller to see if she's healthy first.

5. foxypoproxy

foxypoproxy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Madison, CT
    If you can, maybe check the hen out for yourself?
    Then you can check her over for illnesses and maybe you will find out why shes separated?