Introducing New Rooster

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by RooLove, Jun 21, 2011.

1. RooLove

RooLove New Egg

Jun 21, 2011
    Hi all!
    I am new to BYC, but have been visiting with all my questions since I began raising chickens this spring. I LOVE these animals. I want to make it a peaceful home for all of us as a family in my backyard. I have 16 baby hens, 1 new rooster, 1 cat, and a 3-year-old son, and a 5-year-old daughter. I also have a loving husband who is less than loving of the chickens.[​IMG]
    I have 16 baby chicks (1 week old) I just bought a 2-year-old Silver Phoenix Rooster. I plan on keeping the chicks in the coop within a smaller cage, so they can see but not touch each other for about a month. Any thoughts on this process from the experienced?

Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  2. jcf3202

jcf3202 Chillin' With My Peeps

I have five 9 week olds and six 4 weeks olds but have not started the process of putting them together.
    So unfortunately I can't answer your question but wanted to offer you a

[​IMG] from Pennsylvania!

3. sunny & the 5 egg layers

sunny & the 5 egg layers Overrun With Chickens

Mar 29, 2011
    Hello and [​IMG]

4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

5. Cadjien_De_Louisiane

Cadjien_De_Louisiane SWLA Gamefowl Breeder

Apr 18, 2011
    Welsh, LA
    [​IMG] Welcome

6. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    [​IMG] and [​IMG] from Ohio. So glad you joined. [​IMG]

7. Barred Babies

Barred Babies Red Roof Farms

Sep 20, 2009
    Pride, La.
    [​IMG] & [​IMG] from Louisiana!

8. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

I have 16 baby chicks (1 week old) I just bought a 2-year-old Silver Phoenix Rooster. I plan on keeping the chicks in the coop within a smaller cage, so they can see but not touch each other for about a month. Any thoughts on this process from the experienced?

Welcome to BYC!