Introduction and request for suggestions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Stuffeshead, Feb 3, 2009.

1. Stuffeshead

Stuffeshead New Egg

Feb 3, 2009
    South Mississippi
    Hello BYCers,

While I've been lurking and reading the board for about six months, this is my first time posting a message. Let me begin by thanking everyone for the great participation that results in such wonderful information and advice on this board!

For many reasons, I will be getting a few birds in the summer after we relocate to our new location (and potentially building a new house). Because it will be summer, I'm thinking of getting 3 or 4 hens for egglaying this year (2009). If all goes well, and the family learns to share the responsibilities of the birds, we may try a run of 30-50 meat birds next year (2010) in a separate coop from the eggers.

I'll be free-ranging and night-cooping the egglayers I get this year. With only three or four in the mix, I plan to use a semi-temporary contraption for coop/run plans this year - maybe even a tractor. For next year, we'll construct a permanent habitation for them and for the meat birds, if that comes to pass.

For this year's egglaying birds, I'm thinking about BOs or similar mainstream variety for easy temperament and reliable production.

Considering my plans from this year to next, I'd love to hear any practical suggestions about how to be more efficient with the small laying flock this year and meat birds next year (or whenever it may or may not happen).

Thanks to all for the invaluable comments you regularly post on the board and for any help you might give me on this question!

Stuffeshead

2. wegotchickens

wegotchickens DownSouth D'Uccles & Silkies

Jul 5, 2007
    Sevier County, TN
    [​IMG] from TN!

We started with a few birds and a tractor. They only had 'free play' when we were home from work.