introduction + lice problem

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by nahomi, Jan 21, 2016.

1. nahomi

nahomi New Egg

Sep 2, 2015
    Vista, California
    Hi im Nahomi, and I'm new to BYC. So around 8 months ago I decided I wanted to start a flock, so I went out and bought two little chicks; a Delaware and a Australorp. Lola is the Delaware and Nita (named after a Mexican pastry lol) is the Australorp. So my girls had a nice homely coop, and they were very well cared for. Unfortunately around eight months later, I lost my Nita due to an accident with the cage door and a loose dog. Lola and Nita were extremely close, so i spent around a month searching for a new companion for my Lola until I found her one. I'm not entirely sure what breed she is, but she's very cute I'll tell you that lol. Turns out the home she came from before was in terrible conditions. She's incredibly docile and sweet, despite being abused and neglected.She's very thin ( gaining pounds by the minute with a proper diet), she has her beak cut, she has a small cold (getting better but still not entirely ok, home remedies much needed ), and she has poultry lice. I've tried to get her to dust bathe but it seems she doesn't know how. Any recommendations? Thanks!

2. potato chip

potato chip lunch-sharer

Welcome to the forum. [​IMG]

As I understand it, dust bathing helps prevent lice getting out of hand to cause a serious infestation, but once you've got such an infestation, you need to use insecticide to kill the bugs. Get some poultry dust and use that.

I'd be more concerned about her signs of having a cold. Is she quarantined from Lola until she recovers? I'd be looking for a diagnosis of what she's got so that Lola isn't put at risk from it. I'm not knowledgeable about chook diseases but the more experienced keepers will have some advice, I'm sure.

3. nahomi

nahomi New Egg

Sep 2, 2015
    Vista, California

Do you have any brands of poultry dust which you recommend?