Is a Lowes shed good for henhouse?

marinas

Hatching
10 Years
Nov 19, 2009
Hi - I am new at this, and wondered if those simple sheds they sell outside of Lowes-
like for around 800$ - would work well for a hen house? I also saw a childs playhouse
for sale recently (wood- but with drywall, is drywall ok? it was unpainted drywall...
that seems possibly kind of poisonous). I don't have time to build a coop or the skills, I mean
hen house- I could put up fencing for the outdoor run. Anyway, about the Lowes sheds?
They have windows, doors, seem predator- armed, are roomy for say 6 hens....I was
thinking those milk/crate things they sell as file crates (plastic, office supply stores) for nesting box?

I'm sure it would work great (I'd be really envious actually!) but there are much cheaper options. Also, depending on your location and the type of shed you buy, you might have to weatherize it. For example, one of the little metal sheds would be like an oven in summer and would need to be insulated for cold weather climates. But they could certainly be made to work and it would be nice to have a coop you can stand up in (makes cleaning easier).

ETA: for nest boxes, you don't need to spend a lot of money. A lot of people use items they already had around the house - a covered cat litter box that is no longer needed, a milk crate turned on its side and so on.

Last edited:
Prefab sheds are fine, providing you add a bunch of extra ventilation. (Metal sheds not so good unless you insulate them, though). They are not the cheapest option, but if you can afford it, then great
smile.png