Is an Egg lighter when it has stopped growing?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by I-Have-Happy-Hens, Nov 14, 2011.

1. I-Have-Happy-Hens

I-Have-Happy-Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2010
    Carrboro, NC
    Hi everybody,

This is my first time hatching eggs and I was candeling and holding the different eggs and one is like half the weight of the others...Does this mean it has stopped growing??

Thanks,

Happy-Hens

Wanted to add I am on day 12.

Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  2. I-Have-Happy-Hens

Jun 16, 2010
    Carrboro, NC
    Any Help would be very appreciated!!

Happy-Hens

3. brijay2

brijay2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2009
    Waddell AZ
    What did it look like when you were candling? How long have you incubated it? Is it the same breed as the others?[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Something sounds wrong, but I may not have the whole story. A chicken egg is not going to stop growing at 12 days. They lose weight because they lose moisture through the porous shell, not because they are growing. If that is a very old egg, it may have lost most of its moisture, but that should have been obvious when you set it. I really don't know what is going on.

Have you sniffed it. If it smells like it might be rotten, very carefully dispose of it. Very carefully!!! If it doesn't smell, I'd candle it or look for a reason it is lighter.

5. I-Have-Happy-Hens

Jun 16, 2010
    Carrboro, NC
    Ok I could not see anything really while candeling but I just looked at it again and it had 2 cracks in it so I melted some wax and covered them up. I am on Day 12 of them being in the bator and yes it is the same breed as all the other ones. When I said stop growing I ment a quiter, These eggs were shipped eggs if that helps. Yes I did smell it they all smell the same so I really have no idea.

Happy-Hens

6. brijay2

brijay2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2009
    Waddell AZ