^^^is being broody so bad??^^^

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by yomama, Jan 2, 2010.

1. yomama

yomama Overrun With Chickens

I know this may sound naive, but I am still new to chickens. My question is, is it so bad that a hen goes broody? I have 4 hens, no rooster. I collect eggs everyday. I have one bantam hen that became broody a few weeks ago. She will sit whether she has an egg under her or not. Do they stop laying if they become broody? They have shelter and water in there run, so I have no problems locking her out of the coop druring the day, but I'd rather not if I don't need to. If I do need to break her broodiness, how long does it usually take?

Thanks!

2. K8tieCat

K8tieCat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    Northern California
    It has been my experience that a broody hen doesn't ever get off the nest until she becomes a mom. Given that, if you have no plans for chicks, you can break her broodiness by locking her out of the nest and changing her routine. Bring her in the house for a few days, and she might forget about it. Otherwise, you might be surprised at how loooong they will go without food waiting for eggs to hatch.

3. Preservation Acres

Preservation Acres Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2008
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Personally, I love when a hen goes broody. Pick up some fertilized eggs from someone near you who has roosters (you can find them on craigslist pretty easily) and stick them under her. You can sell the chicks after they hatch if you don't want to keep them. You won't have any problems selling them, especially if the price is right. I kept mine until they were fully feathered (about 5 weeks) then sold them. It was lots of fun!

Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  4. yomama

Is that the problem then, she won't eat while being broody? Sorry if I sound dumb, I have just never dealt with this before.

5. Keri78

Keri78 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2009
    NJ