Is it 2 Cold for the Eggs?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by 1234duck, Jan 8, 2011.

1. 1234duck

1234duck Chillin' With My Peeps

Is 30 too Cold for Duck Eggs to be sitting in the Nest Every Night? Wont they Freeze to Death? This is my first time raising Ducks and tending to their Eggs. I am going to look for an incubator this weekend. Does any body have advice on what type or what I should be looking for when buying an incubator? Are they difficult to work? Aprox. how much do they cost? Thanks a lot for your help, Julie

2. jack & mommy's duckies

jack & mommy's duckies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2010
    I'm not sure about the temp question for eggs. I live in Ontario Canada and right now what is laid in the duck house at night is still ok when I go let them out in the morning. But the ones that are laid during the day outside are frozen. I candle them to tell if they are frozen. When I see big cracks in the shell I know.

As for the incubator....I'd say think about what your goals are first. If you only want to hatch a few eggs a year....then a small foam one I guess would do just great....I've never used one but others have and seem to do just fine with them. But if your thoughts are to be able incubate lots of eggs or lots of rotating hatches then a bigger sportsman would be the best choice. I bought mine used for $300. and they are new about $1000. But I wanted to have more then one hatch on the go...I wanted to buy eggs from all over Canada and introduce new blood lines. And trust me when you start incubating...it is a horrible addiction and you won't stop there...lol I'd incubate store bought chicken eggs if I even thought they would be fertile...lol

3. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC