Is it best to not feed your culls 12-24Hrs before culling?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Ol'FashionHen, Nov 20, 2008.

1. Ol'FashionHen

Ol'FashionHen Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2008
    The South
    I was just wondering. I have 3 roosters I am going to be culling this weekend with my DH and DS. My DH says it dosen't matter if you do feed them up to point, and I have heard some people say "don't feed". I would like to know what would be best. I'm scared to break their neck too, because they are some big ol roos and I have been pecked and was left with a bloody bruise by one of these guys they are around 18 weeks old. So we were thinking of using a 22. What do ya'll think ? I've never done this before.

Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  2. shelleyb1969

shelleyb1969 Star Bright Farm

I take mine to a processor, so I can't help you with the method. I can tell you, however, that my processor does ask that the chickens be dropped off the night before they are to be slaughtered. They are slaughtered the next morning, and you pick them up that afternoon. So I'm assuming this is their personal preference....I guess it varies. But I would assume that them not eating overnight gives their bodies time to digest the food eaten that day? [​IMG]

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    There are two reasons for withholding feed for 12 hrs; one, it will empty the crop, and two, it will, er, not *empty* the intestines but at least reduce how full they are.

Having an empty crop means no food to spill out when you're cleaning the bird; OTOH it's just, literally, food, not even digested at all, not offensive or gross or particularly unhygeinic, and easy enough to wipe away if it happens.