1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Is it better to have pure breed chickens or not?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by nicoe, Feb 9, 2009.

1. nicoe

nicoe Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2009
    oklahoma
    I was wondering if it's better to have pure breed chickens?
    I'm new to having chickens and i got a bator.... I would like to start hatching chicks and sell them. So i'm not sure if they should be pure breed or not? also what are the best chicken to sale? how much do chicks sell for? can you keep them until they get a little older and get more money for them?

Thanks for all the help!

2. Master S.M.C

Master S.M.C Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2009
    Maryland
    Of course, nobody will pay good money for a chick that isn't pure bred or you just don't know what it is. lol

3. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    If you are wanting to sale chicks, purebred chicks will sale better than mixed up chicks. Chicks usually sale for around $1.50 to $2.50 here. Depending on breed, age and etc. And you can keep them till they are a little older and get a little more for them, but it costs you a little more to get them older.

4. luvmychicknkids

luvmychicknkids Canning Squirrel

Mar 6, 2008
    Floresville, Texas