Is it necessary to close the coop at night?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by DaraKing, Jul 8, 2016.

1. DaraKing

DaraKing Just Hatched

May 19, 2016
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Hello,

I'll start this by saying that I live in the desert near Albuquerque, New Mexico. Predators here are primarily coyotes, hawks, and owls, raccoons or foxes aren't an issue. I am also brand new to raising chickens.
    Now, I have 5 birds--4 pullets and 1 cockerel--in a 10x6 dog run/fence, and the coop is in the run with them. I cannot let them free range here because hawks are always flying nearby. The run is completely enclosed and my yard is surrounded by 7 ft tall block walls, so I'm not worried about predation but I am wondering if it is necessary to close them in their coop at night? I am NOT a morning person (in fact, I'm writing this at 2:15 am!). I've got my birds trained to go into the coop on their own at dusk and currently I do close them in, but I go back out in the middle of the night to (quietly) open it back up so they can be out with the sunrise. I'm questioning whether this is a vital daily task. Other than keeping them safe from predators (if that risk existed for me), is there any reason the coop door cannot stay open all night?

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] If you are certain they are protected by the surround and nothing can get in then there would be no reason to lock them in the coop.

But, your list of no predators vs predators there is not clear to me....if the run is not covered and there are owls - then they are a serious risk?

If nothing can access your flock at nite, just let them go in and out at free will.

But, do make it part of your routine to inspect the walls and run to make sure there's no evidence of a "weak link" in the "fort".

Last edited: Jul 8, 2016
  3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas