Is it ok to eat?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by RainyDog, Oct 23, 2011.

1. RainyDog

RainyDog New Egg

Oct 23, 2011
    Or rather, feed to the dogs.

Hello, everyone. I am new here, and I was wondering if I could solicit some advice about a fowl subject. I am new to but excited about processing a chicken.

I am visiting friends, with no chicken processing experience, who just purchased a whole mess of chickens today. Unfortunately, one of them died during transport. I haven't seen it yet, but they say that it got its head stuck and broke its neck. They also said rigor mortis set in. The chicken was not butchered and was placed in a refrigerator. They plan on burying it or burning it in a fire. I plan on butchering it tomorrow and feeding it to the dogs raw. Am I crazy? Should I let them bury/burn it? At the very least, I figure that it will be a learning experience that I shouldn't pass up.

I assume that the biggest issue is the fact that it had not been butchered before being placed in the refrigerator.

If it is ok to feed to the dogs, will I have difficulty bleeding it out?

Thanks in advance. Any insight you can provide is appreciated.
    Jenn

2. Erica

Erica Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 5, 2010
    It will be a little hard to deal with, being stiff, but I would take it outside and process it for dog food, personally. The dogs won't mind how it died.
    There may be reasons not to do this, so listen to other answers... But personally I hate it when a life gets wasted.
    Failing that, plant under a tree...
    cheers
    Erica

Edited to add: you won't be able to bleed it out successfully. That requires a beating heart. But if you piece it up, or maybe bone it first, a lot of blood will escape the meat that way. You don't want to store this bird for long, so the blood in the carcass won't be an issue (blood makes meat go off quicker). Again, the dogs won't mind.

Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  3. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More