Is it okay to let chickens clean-up garden at end of season

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by 4luvofchickens, Aug 5, 2010.

1. 4luvofchickens

4luvofchickens In the Brooder

Jul 29, 2010
    Northern NY
    Will thier manure age properly to be safe for next years garden since they will be pooping as they are eating? Sorry if this is a dumb question, I am new to chickens, gardening and composting.

2. 4luvofchickens

4luvofchickens In the Brooder

Jul 29, 2010
    Northern NY
    Anyone??

3. blueskylen

blueskylen Songster

Mar 3, 2008
    WV
    i think definitely let them do some cleanup - fertilizing. mine love veggies- squash,tomatoes,beans and after we pull most of it out at the end of season, they go in and clean up any bugs,worms,seeds,etc. we even clean the coop/run all winter and throw it on the garden.

4. redhen

redhen Kiss My Grits... Premium Member

May 19, 2008
    Western MA
    Yup.. i let mine (and my pigs) in the garden at the end of every season...
    Its cleared out in a few days... [​IMG]

5. darkmatter

darkmatter Songster

Jul 10, 2009
    I fenced off my garden and run with a shared fence for that very reason. In the fall when I'm done with the garden, I open the run/garden "pop" door and let them in all fall/winter into spring till I'm ready to plant. They do a bangup job of cleaning tilling and fertilizer for me. See my BYC page for pics. And yes, I use the Coop's year long deep litter in the spring for the garden.

6. mangled

mangled Songster

We let the fence down and let the chickens have at the garden at the end of the year. I've found that the little bit of poop that they leave isn't harmful, we leave it open, they clean it out, and we till it right before the freeze. We dump the coops' contents before we till as well. Our garden has flourished this year, I really feel it's the chicken manure.