Is it possible to add more chicks to a group of 3 week old chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BTinks, Feb 22, 2013.

1. BTinks

BTinks Out Of The Brooder

Feb 22, 2013
    Hi! I'm very new to chickens so I apologize if this is a dumb question. [​IMG]

I have 25 2.5 week old pullets that I got from our local hatchery... I love them and am really happy with the assortment we got. We're still trying to figure out the breeds but it seems like we have a mix of Amber Sex Links, Wyandottes, Jersey Giants, and Australorps. I had been hoping for a few Easter Eggers to add some colorful eggs to my lot, but it doesn't look like any of my girls are turning out to be EEs. So I am wondering if it is possible to get some EEs from the hatchery that I got my pullets from and add them to the flock now. I've read that it's tricky to add to a flock when they are all adults, so I wondered if it would be better to do it now while they're still young? Has anyone done this? Is it stupid to attempt? I wouldn't get more than 5 new ones if I did it.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Good question and it's not a dumb idea. The younger the better. They haven't started to establish a pecking order yet.
    I do it all the time. I usually wait till the youngest are 3 or 4 days old so they can run for cover if they get picked on. If you give them plenty of space you can spread the age range even more.
    I had single chicks hatch 4 weeks apart and a batch of meaties 4 weeks older than the oldest of those 2. I took the smallest meatie, added the first hatched chick, then 4 weeks later added the third and they became fast friends.

Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  3. debid

debid Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2011
    middle TN